AuthorTopic: Welding Problem That's Just Pissing Me Off...  (Read 6212 times)

Offline Rubberhead

• Serious Rat Rodder
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Referrals: 0
Welding Problem That's Just Pissing Me Off...
« on: February 23, 2014, 07:13:13 PM »
I'm no welder, at least not by trade but I can stick two pieces of metal together. My problem is that when I do so, the pieces never seem to stay in the same place. I had a piece made for my floor that I needed to replicate, so I clamped it to the made piece and welded it up and when I unclamped it, it was 3/16" different. I've tried everything that I can think of and still nothing stays in place. Any ideas/advice?

Offline lowboy

• Global Moderator
  • Rat Rods or Nothing
  • Vehicle: 1973 Volkswagen Beetle
  • Activity:
    0.2%
  • BOOG OUT
  • Referrals: 3
Re: Welding Problem That's Just Pissing Me Off...
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2014, 08:05:12 PM »
Don't wanna insult you but... didja tack it first? sounds like your some how shrinking the metal if so maybe double tack things Hope this helps If not give a little more details Don't wanna sound like my normal smart a$$ self just trying to help
life is a ride where you slide into heaven sideways on 4 flats blown motor saying Thank you God what a ride!!!!!

Offline Rubberhead

• Serious Rat Rodder
  • Activity:
    0%
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2014, 10:08:00 PM »
Yeah I did, I even laid complete welds on one or more sides before removing and fully welding the parts only to reinstall them and find the issue - I'm a pretty detail oriented kind of guy, so this is annoying as hell...

Offline hotwheels

• Rat Rod Builder
  • Administrator
  • Rat Rods or Nothing
  • Vehicle: 1947 Ford Pickup
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Referrals: 9
    • Rat Rod Nation
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2014, 07:56:42 AM »
I would layout the entire floor, and tack weld everything as you go. NO welding until everything is laid out, tacked in......