AuthorTopic: New Project questions  (Read 2919 times)

Offline BraverunningT

• Rat Lover
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Referrals: 0
New Project questions
« on: June 20, 2014, 09:22:10 PM »
Hey, I am wondering how difficult it is to keep a rat rod as a daily driver. I know that I would probably have to put a muffler on for daily use, unfortunatly. I also am wondering why alot of rat rods are noy used for things like daily driving. I am very new to this, so I still dont know a ton about rat roding.

Thanks,
Tyler

miraclepieco

Re: New Project questions
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2014, 01:26:09 AM »
I know several rat rod owners who use them as daily drivers - including some guys on this forum.

Many rat rods however (mine for example) aren't at all practical for regular use: radical engines, loud pipes, no fenders, no windows, no heater, rough ride, cramped cab, rare or exotic components, etc etc.

Other factors against using them as a DD's are licensing and insurance. Some classic car insurance policies limit the number of miles you can drive annually, and many states restrict the use of cars licensed as "antique" or "street rod" to parades, shows, rod runs, etc - not for commuting or transportation.

I'd love to have a rat rod DD!

Offline hotwheels

• Rat Rod Builder
  • Administrator
  • Rat Rods or Nothing
  • Vehicle: 1947 Ford Pickup
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Referrals: 9
    • Rat Rod Nation
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2014, 08:24:35 AM »
I would be driving mine right now as a daily driver but i need to put my new engine in er. Allot of the rides that are built, usually aren't built with the daily driving in mind. The car's are built really low to the ground, open headers, seats that sit right on the floor, etc. I personally try to build rides that can be used as a daily driver because i think they should be driven, but allot of people prefer to go after a certain look (which is kewl), but they can't handle the bumps and dips of the roads.